Yankee Stadium Will Settle For Nothing Less Than The . . . Dramatic

yankee stadium asg.jpg          The last All-Star Game in the last year of Yankee Stadium results in… something that could never have been scripted. Not a single American watching this game, playing in it or managing it could have imagined this: a miraculous 4 hour 50 minute win for the AL in 15 innings. This game was all that you could ask for and a bag of chips. If you’ve never really liked baseball before and watched tonight’s game, I bet you’re loving it now. If you’re not…. well, you’re just not normal. The game doesn’t get any better than that. Every player on the American League team got into the game and only in Yankee Stadium would the one guy who did not want to come into the game end up being the winning pitcher. Ode to Scott Kazmir.
          The MVP tonight: J.D. Drew, who I actually rooted for in the 15th [as I said, history was made tonight… but I will deny this if ever asked in a court of law]. Drew tied the game when all thought this game would be a sleeper. Miraculously, he was the only hitter for the AL, other than Morneau, to have a multi-hit game.
          The guy that drove in the winning run: the same guy that drove it in two years back: Michael Young, who shall now officially be known as Mr. Midsummer Classic.
          I wish I could spend hours ranting on how incredible this game was but 15 innings speaks for itself. Yankee Stadium enjoyed more history tonight [as if it hasn’t witnessed enough]. So, in closing, to sum up what this game was [and baseball is] simply, I’d say… life.

P.S. If you want to know my thoughts throughout the game check out the last post.
P.P.S. Also, just to mention: 34 total K’s tonight… hmm, think that’s a record?
Okay, one last note. I forgot to mention the greatest quote of the night: “Don’t try to be a hero. Try to be a winner.” -George Brett.

celebration2.jpg

3 comments

  1. jimmy27nyy

    Hi, Vanessa …

    Nice “live-blogging” and “description” of the All-Star Game … Also, a beautiful sky-view photo of Yankee Stadium with the U.S.A. flag in the outfield … and, picture of Derek Jeter in the middle of the American League celebration after they won the game … This All-Star Game was awesome, and truly “a classic” … It started out great, with all the Hall-of-Famers [on the field] before the game started; and, a very dramatic entrance by Yankees Owner, George Steinbrenner … The ending was great [also] – A win by the American League [again] !!! … The American League team, in the World Series, now has the home field advantage – which is certaintly great news for the Yankees … The perfect ending, to this final season in the old Yankee Stadium, will be the Yankees winning their 27th World Championship, by winning the final game of the 2008 World Series – at Yankee Stadium !!! … Excellent Post !!! … Take care, Vanessa … Jimmy [27NYY] …

    http://baseballtheyankeesandlife.mlblogs.com/

  2. Kylie

    Siiiigh.
    Although I am furious that we lost YET ANOTHER All-Star Game, I can totally sympathize with all your feelings. It was a fantastic game, and at that point, when Matt Holliday and Aaron Cook weren’t even in the game anymore, I just wanted it to be over so I could go to sleep. I didn’t cry like I suspected I would.
    And I suppose if the Cubs or the Cardinals go to the World Series, I’ll be happy that the AL has the stupid home-team advantage.
    That quote from George Brett–he uttered it in passing but almost everything I have read about the game quoted him. I’m so putting that on my senior page.
    Keep blogging!
    Kylie — http://kylie.mlblogs.com

  3. texasrangerschick

    Great pictures. I love that picture of Yankee Stadium. God, I wish I could have gotten to go there. Hopefully, I’ll get to go to the new Yankee Stadium. The pic of the AL celebrating is great as well. This game was so great. What a way to send off the Stadium! Aww. ‘Mr. Midsummer Classic.” I love it.

    ❤ hannah

Leave a Reply

