What. . . Is. . . Happening?

millar-2.jpg          First things first… I would like to state for the record that I officially hate Wilson Betemit. Can someone please just grab his bat and take a swing at his ribs for me? Better yet… put on a blindfold, picture him as a piñata [which shouldn’t be too hard] and see if you can get candy to fall out, which I doubt, but who cares? It’ll be fun either way. 

*Wooooo saaaahhh*
Okay, I’m feeling better now.

Now, ladies and gentlemen…
The list of things that just blew my mind tonight:
1. the Yanks attempted a comeback
2. someone hit a shoooot off Mariano
3. Pittsburgh actually has a reason to laugh tonight
[with both of their former players, that they so graciously gift wrapped and sent to the Yanks for no cost, each having a special part this loss]

4. Carl Pav-ow-no pitched two innings in the minors without allowing a  run or breaking a nail
WHAT is the world coming to?

          In all seriousness though, what the hell happened? Fate seriously had a grudge against the Yanks tonight. I mean, the game started off normal. The Yanks blew chances, Raz let a few score, same old same old. But THEN…  Marte, one of the guys Cashman committed highway robbery for, watches the bases get cleared and the Yanks go down by 5 in a matter of minutes… the Yanks score two before the other guy Cashman committed highway robbery for, X-Man, comes up to the plate and K’s to end the inning that the Yanks could’ve kept scoring in [until it was Betemit’s turn to bat of course]… Mariano, El Máquina, serves up a blast to the first batter he faces, scoring what happened to be the winning run… and lastly, the Yanks actually come close to coming back from a 4 run deficit in the 9th when I thought they’d go down 1-2-3.
          Though the Yanks weren’t able to pull it off tonight, they did something they haven’t done a whole of this season: have energy in the late innings. I would love to see some more of that. I would also love to see someone do some voodoo magic so Tampa can go on a 20 game losing streak, like they used to… but I’ll settle for a 10 game losing streak at the least.
          Strangely, though the Yanks lost tonight, I don’t have any of the usual post-loss feelings [i.e. furiousness [is that a word?], hopelessness and/or indifference]. I’m somewhat surprised they put up a fight and I’m pretty sure that they would’ve won if Betemit had not been the last man in the batter’s box, but what are you gonna do? I’ll accept this loss. Raz wasn’t too shabby, I don’t know what happened to Marte & Mo, and the bats tried. I won’t accept another loss tomorrow though. Granted, there will be higher pressure put on Joba to end this mini losing streak, but Joba eats pressure for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Joba Chamberlain and disappointment do not rhyme. Let’s not get swept, shall we?

Other Notes:
– Big G had some day. He chokes in his first two at bats, with runners in scoring position each time… then gets two bloop singles and another off a comebacker that deflected off George Sherrill’s glove and winds up with 2 RBI’s tonight.
– Boston almost got no hit… HA. And I thought the Yanks had trouble against the Angels.
– I gotta post this quote from
Ramón Vázquez, who made 3 errors in tonight’s game for the Rangers in Arlington and then won the game with a double in the bottom of the 9th: “I just wanna say thank you to the fans that stayed here and were clapping for me to get a hit… and for those that were booing me, take that beep.” Lol. That was an intentional beep too.

One comment

  1. thekfny28

    What can you do? Betemit’s a backup. He’s a backup infielder. He’s a utility guy. He’s not the best of hitters. You think Alberto Gonzalez would’ve come through? You think Miguel Cairo wouldn’t have made an out? I’m sure Bernie Castro would’ve done so much better. It’s only the fact that we play Betemit too much, expecting him to play like a regular when he’s clearly not.

    Anyway, tough loss, but encouraging loss. Keep your hopes up. It’s not over yet.

    -EJ/Kid From New York

Leave a Reply

