Finding Reasons To Care

          Since the Yanks are essentially
eliminated, [as there is barely a chance at all that the Red Sox/Rays
will collapse and the Yanks will miraculously win the rest of their
games] there’s only one thing Yankee fans can do right about now
[besides complain] and that is: find reasons to care. So, here are the
top 5 reasons I’ve devised to keep watching the games and continue being loyal fans:

5. There’s a chance Pavano will *gulp* not suffer from a new injury this year. Gotta love more Yankee history.

4. Must see if Moose can manage to get to 20 for the first time in his career. I know everyone is rooting for him. He more than deserves it.

3. There’s still the last game in
Yankee Stadium to look forward to and who wouldn’t want to see if the
Yanks can bash them out of the ballpark in celebration of the Stadium… or
embarrass themselves again. Either way it’ll be news.

2. To see the reaction of the
players as they get closer and closer to being mathematically
eliminated. My mind is still trying to imagine what Jeter will say when
his team officially won’t make it to the postseason for the first time
in his career. I can pretty much bet the $2 I have in my pocket right
now that the players will be relatively calm and will make statements
somewhere along the lines of  “What can you do?” or “Bottom line: We
didn’t play well” or “Now all we can do is get vamped up and do what we
can to get ready for next year.” Is it too much to ask for someone to
get erratically furious? Bring O’Neill back to the Stadium. I need to
see some cooler smashing.

1. Lastly… C’mon, is it not sheer
entertainment hearing Joe G.’s various statements of denial? My
favorites of the year so far: “It’s not the end of the world” and
“There’s still a lot to play for.” Hmm… yeah, I’m not sure 3rd place
can be considered as “something to play for.” Maybe it is in the
underwater world of the Marlins but in Yankee Universe… not so much.

If you guys think up any other good reasons, let me know.

P.S. Yes, a post with no great picture… it’s rare, but it does happen.

Original post here.
3 comments

  1. Jane Heller

    Vanessa! You were so great to email in to the Live Video show today! Very cool. The traffic getting down to Hollywood from Santa Barbara was ridiculous and I was about 15 minutes late (NYC traffic is nothing compared to LA traffic, honestly), but the show was a lot of fun. We had people email from all over the world. I hope you enjoyed the plug for your blog. It was heartfelt!

    As for reasons to care about the Yankees as we wind down, well I guess my biggest reason is because I can’t not care. I’m more depressed about the baseball season being over than angry about the way things turned out. I’m going to miss our guys, even if they did “underperform.” Can’t help it.

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  2. flairforthedramatic

    It was fun listening to talk about baseball and your book. It was very interesting. Thanks again for the shoutout 🙂
    I couldn’t put it into words but I think that the reason you mentioned is the main reason why I still watch the games as well. Putting the game on every night at 7:05 has become a ritual and I’ve loved this team since the moment I first attended a game at the stadium so, as you said it, it’s hard not to care about the team. It’s much easier to not care when they turn out these horrible losses but every one of those losses still hurts you just the same. There’s no doubt that I’ll miss them, even the horrible version of them, in the offseason when there’s no baseball to serve as a comfort in the long, cold months of winter, but their poor performance has got to me. I’m only 17 so the Yanks have gone to the postseason every year since I can remember, so like Jeter, I’m being hit with a surprise. October without the Yanks is like fries with no ketchup… dry and anything but sweet.
    V – F4Td

Leave a Reply

