In Retrospect

          I don’t know what you guys think, but it’s been some week if you ask me. Here is the latest [not all baseball related for this one]:

1. It’s A Bird.. It’s A Plane… No, It’s Both?

Yeah, apparently when you add both of those ingredients together you get some fear, craziness and one hell of news story.

.cc_box a:hover .cc_home{background:url(‘http://www.comedycentral.com/comedycentral/video/assets/syndicated-logo-over.png’) !important;}.cc_links a{color:#b9b9b9;text-decoration:none;}.cc_show a{color:#707070;text-decoration:none;}.cc_title a{color:#868686;text-decoration:none;}.cc_links a:hover{color:#67bee2;text-decoration:underline;}

Now,
this type of thing would so not be funny if someone actually died, but
since that miraculously didn’t happen… makes you think New York can
handle anything. Bring. it. on. The whole situation was described as
organized chaos and a “miracle”, however, I describe it as insanely weird
and completely awesome [yeah, I mean it]. Can you imagine being the police or whoever and getting
the call saying, “Hey, a plane just landed in the Hudson”? According to news reports, the
first thing officials thought was that it
was a small aircraft. Now imagine their face when they show up on the
scene and realize they were talking about a ginormous commercial
airliner bathing in the Hudson River… which isn’t so smart
considering how filthy that thing is. I don’t know how many noticed
this but in all of the pictures taken of that big boy in the water you
cannot see anything that was underwater at all  [such as the bottom of the plane that was slowly submerging, or even the people’s feet while they were waiting on the
wings to be rescued] and I’m talking even just an inch underwater. I
think a more appropriate title for this astounding feat shouldn’t have
been “Miracle On The Hudson” but more like “Miracle On That Big Flowing
Thing We Call  Still Call A River But Should Call A Land Fill”.

2. Uhh, That Global Warming Thing… You Guys Are Still Sure About That One Right?

It doesn’t need to be said, as I’m sure most were feeling it, but boy was it cold… nay, freezing
the last couple of days. There are only a few days a year where you can
leave your fridge unplugged / freezer door open and it wouldn’t make the slightest difference..
and today was definitely one of them. I can’t imagine how people who
have it worse deal with it. Take these people for example:

…crazy much?

3. Mets Further Embarrassed [Wait, Is This News?]

By
now I’m sure everyone’s heard how badly the Mets are getting laughed at
for their new inaugural season in Citifield  patch “logo”, if you can
even call it that, but it’s worth reiterating here: hahahaha… sorry.
What I mean is, seriously? What were you thinking? You’re a baseball
franchise (not a great one, but one nonetheless)… and to celebrate a
new stadium, which you definitely needed and finally got, this is what
you come up with?:

I almost feel bad… like Mets’ fans need any more of a reason to feel embarrassed…

P.S. The Max wants full credit for the Dominoes Pizza joke about the patch and I give it to them.

4. Change, Hope & All That Good Stuff Coming This Tuesday

And
I’m psyched… not just because Obama has been more than inspiration
already, without even stepping into office yet… not just because
Obama will be the coolest President ever, whether or not he does a good
job; I mean, how many Presidents can pull off this huh?

obama dunks.jpg

also not just because he isn’t like any President the U.S. has ever
had… and not just because everyone [or at least the majority of
people in the country] love him… because finally, we will no longer
have to see that moron we’ve been forced to see pretend to know what
he’s doing represent the U.S. I won’t pretend to know more about
politics than I actually do, but even I wouldn’t have voted for him in
the first place, much less a second time, but thank goodness for that good
old 22nd Amendment.

And Lastly…

5. Thank MLK Jr.

Because of his dream, I will have the chance to dream this 3 day weekend,
instead of going days on 2 hours of sleep as I’ve been doing recently
because of the incredible amount of work that’s being thrown at me in
my senior year. I get the whole “preparing you for college” thing…
but c’mon. I’ve never had to do so many papers in such a relatively
short time in my life, which is what’s to blame for the lack of updates
on this blog of late. I apologize again. Glad to say this will be me
this weekend though:

garfield sleeping.jpg

And this, my friends, will be my alarm clock:

alarm clock.jpg

Hehe…

P.S. Forgot to mention my twitter thing: http://twitter.com/f4td

13 comments

  1. flairforthedramatic

    Yeah, it was pretty surprising to find out that everyone managed to survive. They were lucky they had a smart pilot.
    And yes, I give it to The Max.. I think Yahoo steals a lot and we just don’t notice it… hmm..
    – V [F4Td]

  2. Jane Heller

    Always great to see you back here, V. Sorry you’ve been so swamped – and COLD. Stay warm and enjoy your weekend off. Really looking forward to the inauguration on Tuesday so we can get the Obama show on the road already!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  3. flairforthedramatic

    Thanks Jane, enjoy your weekend as well. Can’t wait for the inauguration as well. I’m dying to see what Obama will bring.
    – V [F4Td]

  4. Elizabeth D

    Vanessa,
    I absolutely love the Daily Show (and the Colbert Report for that matter). I literally get all my primary sources for my classes from there. And I want those Barack Obama shoes!! I’m so excited for the inauguration!!
    -Elizabeth (your facebook friend!)
    http://redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com

  5. flairforthedramatic

    I love them both as well. They’re both hilariouuuss. I can’t get enough.
    Those kickz do look pretty sweet, but I actually think they’re concept sneakers, haven’t been really made… yet.
    I can’t wait for the inaug either. Never have I been so excited for politics.. I feel like a dork lol.
    p.s. ya know, i actually didn’t realize you were on my friends list until recently, but kool lolz 🙂
    – V [F4Td]

  6. Erin Kathleen

    Vanessa,
    That plane crash has to be one of the most incredible things I’ve ever seen in my life. How that pilot managed to land safely, in the river!, without anybody getting killed is just a miracle. And if you think it was cold in New York, it was a balmy -5 here in Minny. For the high.

    Also, I can completely sympathize with all the homework and stuff. It’s been awhile since I graduated high school, but I remember senior year was no fun. I’m sure it’s even worse now. I actually think college is a lot less work, and I’m working on my MBA! Good luck!
    -Erin

    http://plunking-gomez.mlblogs.com

  7. flairforthedramatic

    Neal – My favorite of the two changes from day to day lol.
    Erin – It sounded pretty incredible indeed. I bet if it had been any other pilot things wouldn’t have ended so pretty.
    -5? How do you do it?
    Yeah, right about now I’m thinking I actually might prefer to be in college with all the work I’m getting this year.. it’s almost ridiculous. I’ll try to survive. Thx for stopping by Erin 🙂
    – V [F4Td]

  8. flairforthedramatic

    EJ – Since you commented at 10:32 a.m., and on weekends I can sleep in ’till 3 in the afternoon sometimes, I think it’s safe to say I was still sleeping when you wrote that.
    This Fan’s Life – Lol, maybe they can use that as their excuse when they fail again this year.
    Jeff – Sorry, I’ll be sure to get you a new snoopy alarm clock. And yes, can’t wait for those.
    – V [F4Td]

Leave a Reply

