It’s Official: Pettitte Reads This Blog

Yeah, and he took my advice.

Apparently the Yanks and Pettitte have resumed talks.

pettitte's back.jpg

No problem.

          However, despite fact that the boys are on speaking terms again, the crummy part is that that still doesn’t guarantee anything. The Yanks could reportedly still go after Ben Sheets [highly doubt it] or go with one of the party mix of pitchers they already have, which include: Phil Hughes, Alfredo Aceves, Ian Kennedy, Phil Coke and Jason Johnson… none of which I think are rotation ready, except maybe Hughes. I guess we’ll see what happens… but Andy, remember, sign the contract and you play in the first year of the new Yankee Stadium… and possibly start the first game [though it seems CC will be the #1 starter]… either way, that’s guaranteed history right there. I’m sure you’re used to signing your name by now, just sign it one more time. We want to see Murderers’ Row-tation.

12 comments

  1. flairforthedramatic

    Yeah, all talk as usual, but I’m conviiinced it’s going to happen. Pettitte just belongs with the Yanks. It’s either the Yanks or retirement, and I know he doesn’t want to hang it up just yet.
    As for V-Tek, same goes for him. He seems to only belong with the Bosox. He’s part of the rivalry so he can’t leave. Plus, after the horrrrrrible season he just had, he should come to his senses soon.
    – V [F4Td]

  2. flairforthedramatic

    Bob – I think so too. It would only be fitting that he gets the ball for Game 1 to start it off for the new stadium. No offense to CC but he just became a Yankee.
    Elizabeth – I know. The Yanks and Pettitte need to get this deal done. That rotation looks way too pretty to pass up.
    – V [F4Td]

  3. Jane Heller

    V, are they actually “talking” or are they just not “not talking,” if you know what I mean? Sounds like Cashman’s left the ball in Andy’s court and is ready to go with Hughes and Co. if necessary. I was very optimistic about this but not anymore.

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  4. levelboss

    IF the Yankees are still on a shopping spree, then they should spend the money on relief pitching (if there are any quality relivers left) OR a backup starter for cheap (look at what the Red Sox did with Penny and Smoltz)
    the 5th spot should be fought for in Spring Training by Hughes, Kennedy, Aceves, and Coke

  5. welikeroywelikeroy

    As a Jays fan I’m really tired of seeing AndyPettitte. First he went away, then he came back, and he has always pitched well versus the Jays. Of any team, he has logged the most innings of his career against the Jays. His record is 17-11 against us.

    Wonder if he’d listen to me if I told him that I’m tired of seeing him pitch against the Jays? Sure, he would definately listen to the fan of another team is in no way involved with him at all. Why not?
    http://homerfoodandhistory.mlblogs.com/

  6. flairforthedramatic

    Jane – I’m still optomistic. It has to be done. He would round out the rotation perfectly and I’m sure Cashman is tired of taking chances with the young guys. Plus, Andy has nowhere else to go. He must sign! lol.
    Level – I don’t think the Yankees particularly need relievers, though it wouldn’t hurt to get a boost. The backup starter rout seems smart if you’re willing to let the youngsters duke it out.. but I’d be more comfortable with Andy on the mound than anyone else.
    Sheena – Don’t see what he has to do with it but.. I’d rather see anyone than Clemens.
    Jeff – I don’t think Pavano had the time between surgeries, the healing process with every new injury and blowing all his undeserved cash on anything he wanted to… but if he did, he should take my advice about the advertising of ACE bandages. Easy money right there.
    Homer – Hehe, I’m sure everyone except Yankee fans are tired of seeing Pettitte. He’s one siiick pitcher. I don’t think he’d listen to you though. Andy only pays attention to suuuuuuper cool Yankee fans such as myself, lol. 🙂
    – V [F4Td]

  7. thekfny28

    Haha, you’re freaking hilarious.

    Personally I’d rather have Hughes or Aceves in the 5-hole, signing Andy Pettitte would just completely clog the rotation and the bullpen. I’m fine with the team as it is.

    Althoooough it would be nice to have Nick Evans of the Mets… that ain’t happening, I know, but…

    -EJ the Kid From New York

    http://yankeesquad.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

