Jeter Is A Thief. . . And A Damn Good One At That

According
to the NY Times and Yahoo, Jeter succeeded in picking himself up a
stadium souvenir 4 months ago, following the final game at the
Cathedral, and it wasn’t no stadium dirt, as that just isn’t good
enough for him… instead, he chose to take this bad boy:

dimaggio sign 2.jpg

I
thought for sure he’d steal the seat he busted his chin on when he took
that dive into the stands in ’04… but I gotta say, nice choice
nonetheless. Maybe you could get me that seat instead eh?

10 comments

  1. flairforthedramatic

    I don’t think it was going to new stadium. It was probably going to be auctioned off… but if I do agree with you. It does belong where ever the Yanks are playing.
    – V [F4Td]

  2. Elizabeth D

    V,
    I agree with Julia, it should be in the new Yankee Stadium. It seems like it needs to be there… so that all the players can slap it on their way out. Not that I agree with the sign or anything, but for tradition’s sake lol.
    PS: Varitek signed with the Sox!! Let the rivalry continue!!
    -Elizabeth
    http://redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com

  3. heartbeatofthebronx

    First i would like to say thank you very much for commenting on, as well as complimenting my blog. I appreciate it and hope that you continue to stop by and read.

    I agree that this phrase has become as much a part of Yankee history as any ever said by a man in pinstripes (aside from Gehrig’s timeless speech after developing ALS). DiMaggio’s quote is written on the side of the old stadium after all, and reminded us how truly proud players once were to wear the interlocking NY on their chest.

    If anyone deserves to take it on the current roster, it’s absolutely the Yankee captain in Jeter. However, if nothing else, another sign HAS TO BE made for the new stadium. It would be like forever removing the “Play Like a Champion” sign from Notre Dame’s locker room. Pride and tradition are the Yankees foundation.

  4. flairforthedramatic

    Jeff – Lol, not a bad idea.
    Jane – Yeah, if it belongs w/ a player, then the only player it belongs w/ is Jeet. El Capitan. I would so love to have a patch of grass from the stadium though.
    Metsmainman – They noticed it was missing, but just didn’t know who took it. I think they suspected it was Jeet, but what were they going to do? Tell him to give it back? It’s Jeter. The one thing I want to know is how the heck he got it out of the stadium.. in his back pocket? Lol.
    Elizabeth – It seems like it would belong in the new Yankee Stadium, but I figure, new stadium, new tradition. Maybe a different sign should go up.
    p.s. hehe, yeah!
    Heartbeat – No problem. Your blog seems like a good read. I completely agree with you. Obviously, if any player were to have it, the only one that should would be Jeter. A new sign does have to be made.. though maybe it should be something different, as it is a new stadium, which should stir new traditions. Possibly what Jeter said in his speech – “There are a few things about the Yankees that never change. That’s pride, tradition, and the greatest fans in the world.”
    And it’s no trouble about posting twice.. I used to do that when I first started out and forgot to post my address.
    Erin -Lol, if mojo’s were easy to steal, I’d take the one that the Angels keep using to have the Yanks play like idiots against them every year… but I doubt that’s going to happen.
    – V [F4Td]

Leave a Reply

