In Retrospect

Absentee on the MLBlogosphere for a week and this is what happens:

1. Pinocchio Becomes A Real Boy… Or As Close As To One As He Will Probably Ever Get:

pinocchio.jpg


So
the big boy admits it. What does that deserve… a pat on the back or a
tomato in the face? I say… both. Though I hate to criticize Alex,
as he’s seen enough criticism as a Yankee than probably any other man
can handle, I just can’t ignore the fact that 1.) he obviously lied
about his use of PEDs before [and that was no little white lie] 2.) He
was partying it up in the Bahamas while the baseball world got a slap
in the face… and 3.) The guy has had more controversy surrounding him
in his career than any politician [and that, my friends, doesn’t just happen]… but,
with that said… I do applaud him greatly for his admission, letting
it all hang out, and being, from what I could see, sincere about it. I hope he was truthful now,
in saying that he only used during his Texas years… but most
importantly, I hope he stops getting his name in the papers for the
wrong reasons, and instead, put the baggage aside and be the person he
can be and continue to be the player he has been.

2. And That Devilish Little Question Pops Up Again:

hof.jpg

Hall
of Fame or no Hall of Fame? I’m going to keep this short, because
there’s really no use in answering it now, plenty of years before he’ll
even be eligible, but my answer, as of right now, is yes, a Hall of
Famer. Whether the guy deserves it or not for ethical reasons is
debatable, but looking solely at his capabilities on the diamond, it’s
a no-brainer. When all is said and done, assuming he continues to
produce as he has, he will likely be the one of the greatest players
[if not the greatest] in the history of the game… and I think he was
capable of that with or without the PEDs… but that’s just my
opinion now… we’ll see what happens.

3. Mo Says: Don’t Worry About It:

As with everything that surrounds the subject of Mariano, it’s pretty much routine that
the worries stir up at some point about the pitcher and his ever
increasing age. Coming off of shoulder surgery, the first slight worry this year is if
he’ll be ready for Opening Day, and Mo, being Mo, told reporters, “It will be
there”… which I’ve translated for you as: “I got this, relax people. Worry when I’m like… 50.”

4. Mmmm, Can You Smell That?:

yanks spring training.jpg

That’s the smell of baseball… and it’s near. Oh yeah.

Side Notes:


Apparently the University of Miami didn’t get the memo from the Mets:
Don’t commit to naming your ballpark after something/someone, unless
you’re absolutely sure there is no reason you shouldn’t.


Bobby signs with the team that might as well be the Red Sox’s
brother… those devilish Angels. Seriously Bobby.. that’s messed up.

 – An
oh so delicious news conference is scheduled for tomorrow, as A-Rod makes
his arrival to camp. He’s had to face an interrogation or two before, but
nothing
like the one he will face now… this should be interesting.

P.S. Just noticed I’m #32 on the Latest Leaders.. went down a bit, but considering I only posted twice during that week.. pretty good.

4 comments

  1. flairforthedramatic

    Jeff – I would cry if Mo’s a juicer. I can’t even make a joke about that. Let’s not mention those words again, shhhh… but yes, nothing is as it seems these days. My mind can’t get around the thought of possibly other big names, that haven’t already been linked to ‘roids, on the ’03 list.
    Julia – I hope he is sincere.. you never can tell these days, with 8 year olds who have already mastered the art of lying.. but I hope he stops the charade and takes it like a man.
    Jane – Thanks Jane 🙂 and yes, thank the genius’s behind facebook..
    – V

Leave a Reply

