A Flashback & Moment To Kick Back

Because
I’m numero 17 on the Latest Leaders this week, I thought I’d give a
quick flashback to game a few years ago, in ’04, that became possibly
the greatest game ever played in the Boskees rivalry, in which the guy
with 17 on his back drove in the winning run in the bottom of the 13th.

The Date: July 1, 2004

The Match-Up: Pedro Martinez vs. Brad Halsey [talk about throwback]

The Box Score:

box score july 1, 2004.jpg

Winning Pitcher: Tanyon Sturtze [remember him?]

Most Memorable Moment:

This doozy:

jeter dive.jpg

The One That Ended It All:

Pinch hit RBI single by John “Flash” Flaherty:

flaherty.jpg

That game that day was something.

You
know its great when Manny goes deep twice, the Yanks get struck out 12
times and lose the DH, let the Sox score in the top of the 13th and still manage to win it in the bottom. Great baseball right there.

Moving on to what happened today technically yesterday…

Apparently,
Joe G. just didn’t feel like working yesterday, so he decided to take
the gang to shoot some pool out in Tampa and brilliantly disguise his
move as a way to get the chemistry up and the guys “bonding” as a
team… riiight.

The guy that ruled:

mariano pool.jpg

Mo.. of course. Superman can whoop a** at anything.

However, I’d love to see him go up against this chick:

me pool.jpg

Yeah, I’m a sure shot too and I think I can take on old Mariano. I obviously have the advantage, with me having an innate, cunning ability to distract people [by taunting them like Henry Rowengartner], plus all of my hair to boot, so Mo… bring it.

P.S. Ignore the mess.. it was a friend who doesn’t know how to clean’s basement.

18 comments

  1. roshkoch

    Good stuff!!! I liked Sturtze a lot, but those were not the best bullpan days for the bombers. Flaherty was a great backup catcher. I remember that series well. But I think my favorite Yanks-v-Sox memory is the last shot in Game 7 of the 2003 ALCS. Little did I know that a new rivalry between myself and Josh Beckett was to be born a few days later.

    BOOOOOOOOOOOOOONE

    Trivia fact about Aaron Boone:
    On the last day of the 1998 season, the Reds helped him make baseball trivia history by starting the only infield ever composed of two sets of brothers: first baseman Stephen Larkin, second baseman Bret Boone, shortstop Barry Larkin, and third baseman Aaron Boone.

    Rosh Koch // http://roshkoch.mlblogs.com

  2. juliasrants

    I think the pool day was probably a good thing. With all the stuff that has gone on off the field, a day of male bonding probably was in order. And I can’t help but notice that you didn’t mention how the 2004 season ended! 😉

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

  3. redstatebluestate

    You could take ’em, V. Easily. Burnett looked like he’d never held a stick before — well, he is a pitcher after all. As for that throwback game, I’m sure you know what the best comeback of the year was… your boys were on the losing end of that one though. Up three games to none? I still can’t believe that happened.
    –Jeff
    http://redstatebluestate.mlblogs.com/

  4. flairforthedramatic

    Rosh – I liked Sturtze too. Did not know that about Boone. LOL about the Yankee Fight Club thing. Indeed, that is the first and second rule people.
    Julia – It was a very good idea. So far I’m liking how Girardi is handling things. And we do not speak of the ’04 postseason. It didn’t happen okay? Lol.
    Jane – I believe he signed a minor league deal with the Dodgers this month. I don’t think he’ll be another Leyritz lol.
    Jeff – Me neither. That broke my heart and I still can’t find the other half of it.. but shhh, no more speak of the ’04 postseason. I might break out in tears again 😦
    – V

  5. roundrock15

    I won’t talk about the 2004 ALCS results if you promise not to talk about the same year’s NLCS results. :-\ In fact, I scarcely got a chance to watch the historic ALCS because of our own redunculor series.

Leave a Reply

